An Incredible Woman, Being Incredible – Mieke Stones

Due to a distinct lack of notable cycling from myself thanks to some food poisoning. I would like to point you in the direction of someone I’m honoured to call a friend. She has taken on a beast of a challenge for 2017 and I’m sure she will smash it just like Mieke always does. With another friend we are taking on a ride from London to Nottingham in March, which I am totally buzzing for. This girl is a true inspiration and without over loading you with anymore of my opinions of her, here she is with some of her own words about her impressive challenge. Show some love and support for Mrs Mieke Stones.

Powered by Me

Longing for a new fitness challenge where I didn’t have to quit my job to cycle the world, or save money I didn’t have to climb a mountain, I created Powered by Me. A year-long adventure where I am only travelling powered by myself, wherever I need to go.

The rules are simple:

* To travel for a whole year using my body to bike, run or walk

* From 1 January 2017 to 31 December 2017

* Blog, vlog and share my journey with anyone who cares

* Raise money for a different charity each month

Why am I doing this?

I’m not getting any younger, recently married and saving to buy. I wanted to find something that was very challenging, but fitted into my current, daily life. Having been a cyclist in London for many years, I often found myself going 5, 6, 7 days without getting public transport. So I thought, could I do this for a whole year? It would be tough, but extremely rewarding. It would also mean I would explore things I enjoy, being outdoors, being active, fundraising and sharing my passion with others, either on, or offline. So Powered by Me was born and I started my journey on 1 January 2017.

How has it been so far?

Tougher than I thought, but in ways I didn’t expect. The physical side hasn’t been too challenging (yet). The hardest part has been battling the elements. Being outdoors for a lot longer than I usually would, I have really struggled with the cold, wind and staying warm. It’s also been hard to active travel and blog, vlog, push donations and share on social media at the same time. But after having already done 6 weeks it is getting a bit easier each day. In theory, the winter months should be the hardest, so come Spring I hope to be more settled and enjoying being outdoors more. That said, I’ve only had 1 day of downpours, so know I have a lot more rain to come – it is Britain after all!

What are the stats to date?

Each week, I do a round up blog post of the week’s stats. To date, from 1 January to 11 February I have travelling over 600km Powered by Me, mostly cycling and walking but a bit of running too. During January I raised £697 for Hand in Hand for Syria and for February, I’ve raised £249.90 for City Harvest London.

How can you get involved?

There are so many ways you can get involved. By donating to the charity I’m fundraising for during that month, commenting and sharing words of encouragement, sharing ideas you may have and taking up the Powered by Me challenge yourself for one full week, starting 3 April. By registering your interest, you’ll be one of the first to hear how you can kick start your own active travel challenge and fundraise for a cause you care about.

Want to find out more?

Email hello@powered-by-me.com

Leave a Reply

