Day 46 – Valladolid to Zamora and then some

When I woke up, it felt like Mike Tyson had been punching me all night long. My legs felt like someone had been yanking them hard, in a desperate attempt to make me a foot taller. I was obstructed from any meditation due to flys constantly landing on my face. Today felt like it was going to be a hard one.

As I began my warm up ride, my stomach started to cramp. I managed 20km before deciding I needed more rest. I found a shaded bench under a tree, in a village that was god knows where. I slept under it for 2 more hours and then went to a cafe to sort out my tummy issues haha. It seemed to work. I felt better, but still not great.

After a further 20kms, I finally had a good rythem going. I saw a sign for Zamora which was just another 50kms away, and was the light at the end of my tunnel. I would allow myself to recover there for a few hours.

Tonight I’m allowing my body some respite, before another couple of hard days. When I left Zamora in the direction of Portugal, I knew I’d benefit greatly for a decent nights sleep. So 2 hours later as soon as the light had faded enough for me to camp, I did. I found a small wooded area and slept like a dead baby.

Leave a Reply

